Joseph J. Colarusso, Attorney at Law Joseph J. Colarusso, Attorney at Law
Free Consultation 203-977-2415 Stamford, CT 866-734-6937 Toll Free 914-946-2777 White Plains, NY
Free Consultation
Stamford, CT 203-977-2415
White Plains, NY 914-946-2777
Main Navigation

Stamford Criminal Defense Law Blog

Can authorities seize my firearms at a domestic violence scene?

When it comes to domestic violence and guns, laws vary from one state to another. According to the Connecticut Judicial Branch, law enforcement officials have the authority to seize your firearms at a domestic violence scene if they find that a family violence crime was committed. If you live in Stamford, or anywhere else in Connecticut, and had a firearm seized due to allegations of domestic violence, you should review your rights.

Under Connecticut law, authorities can seize firearms which are in the possession of anyone who is taken into custody for a domestic violence crime at the scene of the alleged crime. Furthermore, law enforcement officials are also able to seize ammunition and electronic defense weapons at domestic violence scenes if they find that family violence crimes were committed. If your firearm was seized, you should also realize that law enforcement agencies in the state are required to return seized firearms to the legitimate owner within seven days. Moreover, seized firearms, electronic defense weapons and ammunition must be returned in original condition. However, authorities do not have to return firearms, ammunition and electronic defense weapons to individuals who are not eligible to possess them.

Taking a look at the penalties for sexual assault

According to the Bureau of Justice Statistics, sexual assault may take a number of forms, such as rape, sexual contact that isn't wanted and verbal threats. Each year, a considerable number of people are convicted of sexual assault across the country. After a conviction, people may face serious consequences which virtually destroy their life. For example, some are sentenced to prison and required to pay stiff financial penalties. When it comes to the penalties for sexual assault, or any type of crime that is sexual in nature, there are many things to take into consideration. For starters, the laws vary from one state to another and those who live in Stamford should understand how Connecticut handles sexual assault cases. Regrettably, many people have been falsely accused of sexual assault and have no idea of what to do next.

The Connecticut General Assembly published helpful information which details how sexual assault is punished in the state. People convicted of first degree sexual assault (Class A or B felony) are often sentenced to more than 10 years behind bars, while people convicted of second degree sexual assault (Class B or C felony) are required to spend at least nine months in prison but may have to spend up to 10 years in prison. Additionally, there are many factors that can impact a case. For example, if the victim was under a certain age (such as 10 or 16 years old), courts cannot reduce the sentence to less than 10 years or five years, respectively.

How long does a protective order last?

Each year, many people are accused of domestic violence and the consequences of these accusations (which are sometimes false) turn lives upside down. In Stamford, and across Connecticut, some people in this position have a protective order taken out against them. If you are going through this, it is important to find answers to any questions you may have, whether you are wondering how long a protective order will last or are unsure of how the order will affect your life.

According to the Connecticut Judicial Branch, a protective order will stay in effect until a court decides to change it or until the criminal case has closed. Judges issue protective orders to protect victims in cases which involve assault, stalking, harassment and other crimes. Those who have a protective order taken out against them may be unable to visit the home of a protected person while the order is in effect.

Reviewing drunk driving statistics in Connecticut

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, more than 1.3 million drivers were taken into custody for driving while intoxicated in 2012. When a driver is arrested for DUI, the consequences could permanently alter the course of their life. For example, someone may lose their job or face social stigma (not to mention prison time and steep fines). The laws vary in different states, so it is vital for drivers who have been arrested in Stamford to understand where Connecticut stands with regard to DUI. Furthermore, taking a look at drunk driving statistics provides a better understanding of just how many drivers are dealing with this firsthand.

On their site, the Connecticut Judicial Branch published a fact sheet that provides a surprising look at DUI cases in the state between fiscal years 1999/2000 and 2014/2015. In fiscal year 1999/2000, Connecticut saw more than 11,800 DUI cases, 5,734 of which were dismissed and 5,226 of which resulted in drivers who were found guilty. In fiscal year 2004/2005, there were 13,186 DUI cases (7,834 dismissed, 4,011 guilty and ten not guilty). Over the course of fiscal year 2014/2015, there were a total of 10,438 DUI cases (6,204 dismissed, 3,327 guilty and three not guilty). Also, it is important to note that in Connecticut, those charged with DUI for the first time can take an educational program which results in dismissal of the case once completed.

Connecticut man facing 40 years in prison over drug charges

Each year, an alarming number of people are sentenced to prison over alleged drug crimes. Unfortunately, many of their lives have been ruined over non-violent drug crimes and some will never be able to truly move forward. In Stamford, Connecticut, it is important for anyone who has been accused of a drug offense to carefully assess every option on the table and identify the best approach. From long-term prison sentences to harsh financial penalties, these charges often carry significant consequences and must be handled appropriately.

A Connecticut man who was being investigated by authorities was recently taken into custody over alleged drug crimes and could spend as many as 40 years in prison. The 39-year-old man, who is from Hartford, recently pleaded guilty to federal charges.

What is the Second Chance Society bill

When someone is charged with a drug crime, the consequences can be devastating. Not only do those convicted of a drug offense often face prison time and financial penalties, but many experience a social stigma as well. In Stamford, Connecticut, it is critical for those who have been accused of a drug-related crime to develop a solid understanding of the smartest course of action. Additionally, it is very important to understand the penalties for drug offenses and any legislative changes, such as the Second Chance Society bill.

According to Connecticut's Official State Website, the Governor recently signed the Second Chance Society bill into law. The legislation will introduce a number of changes that will affect people who are charged with a drug crime or nonviolent and victimless offense. The penalty for drug possession is reduced under the bill and will become a misdemeanor without a mandatory jail sentence (one year maximum sentence). Previously, drug possession was classified as a felony and carried a seven year maximum jail sentence.

Can drivers refuse to take a breath test?

From prison time to financial penalties, life can be very difficult for those charged with drunk driving. Unfortunately, some people who are dealing with these accusations were falsely accused, while others were not aware of the laws in their state or their rights. For example, some drivers in Stamford may not know if it is against the law for them to refuse a breath test in Connecticut. Whether people need to defend themselves in court or avoid DUI-related charges in the first place, it is critical for drivers to be familiar with state laws concerning drunk driving.

When it comes to drunk driving, the laws vary in different states. According to the Connecticut General Assembly, drivers in the state provide implicit consent to be tested for alcohol or drugs when they get behind the wheel. Furthermore, those who refuse to take a breath test may face penalties, such as the suspension of their driver's license. For a first-time offense of test refusal, drivers over the age of 21 have their license suspended for six months, while third-time offenders face three years of license suspension.

Offering first-rate criminal defense for our clients

Each day, people are falsely accused of committing crimes that they had no involvement in. Also, people face devastating consequences following a conviction and some could have secured a more favorable outcome if they had a top-notch defense team on their side. At The Law Offices of Joseph J. Colarusso, we stand up for the rights of our clients in Stamford, and other cities in Connecticut, and work hard to provide them with first-rate criminal defense.

From traffic violations to drug charges and theft, criminal charges take many forms. If you are convicted of one of these crimes, your life may change in an instant and you could face serious consequences, such as prison time and financial penalties. Our law firm is very familiar with how these cases are handled and we approach every case on an individual basis. After all, the details that surround a criminal case can vary dramatically and it is vital for people to put their best foot forward in court. Furthermore, we can help those who have been charged with a crime remove their arrest record from the internet. Removing arrest records from the internet is important for many reasons, whether you are applying for a job, trying to rent an apartment, etc.

How are drivers under 21 penalized for marijuana possession

For young people who have not reached the age of 21, there are a number of legal restrictions and the consequences of a criminal conviction may be different because of the person's age. Even if someone under 21 is legally considered an adult, they are not able to purchase alcohol. Furthermore, it is important for young people and their parents to understand how the penalties for certain offenses can vary depending on an individual's age. For example, being convicted of marijuana possession in Stamford or anywhere else in Connecticut can have a unique impact on drivers who are under the age of 21.

According to the Connecticut General Assembly, individuals who are under 21 face penalties that affect their ability to drive if they are convicted of possessing a small amount of marijuana. Under state law, those who have not reached the age of 21 and have been convicted of possessing under a half-ounce of marijuana will have their driver's license (or non-resident operating privileges) suspended for a total of 60 days. Additionally, those who are under 21 and convicted of possessing small amounts of marijuana but do not have a driver's license will have to wait 150 days until they will become eligible to receive a driver's license.

How is family violence defined under Connecticut law?

From time behind bars to a shattered reputation, accusations of domestic violence can destroy someone's life. Unfortunately, in Stamford, and across the state of Connecticut, many people have been falsely accused of family violence, while other cases involve small incidents that were exaggerated and blown out of proportion. For people who are dealing with legal problems related to domestic violence, it is important to understand relevant legal matters, such as how the law defines family violence, and thoroughly review the details surrounding a case.

Under Arrest? Call our 24-hour emergency line 203-325-2200

Contact Us For Legal Help

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Subscribe to This Blog's Feed FindLaw Network