In Connecticut, drivers may face a number of penalties if they are charged with drunk driving, such as prison time, fines and the suspension of their driver's license. For those who live in Stamford, or anywhere else in Connecticut, and have had their license suspended, understanding the state's reinstatement process is essential.
When teenage drivers are charged with driving under the influence in Connecticut, the penalties can be serious, especially when compared to other states. Under state law, young drivers face a number of possible consequences when charged with a DUI, including the mandatory use of ignition interlock devices, restricted driving privileges and a 90 day driver's license suspension for a first time offense.
In addition to fines and restricted driving privileges, teenagers charged with DUI also have to deal with some of the highest car insurance rates when compared to other states. As a result, it is essential for young drivers in the state to realize the potential consequences of driving while intoxicated.
If you are charged with driving under the influence, the length of your license suspension may vary depending on the details of your case. For example, your license could be suspended for 48 hours, 45 days, 90 days or one year. A number of factors influence the consequences of a DUI charge, such as age, previous convictions, BAC level and other details surrounding the case. For some people who are facing DUI charges, talking to an attorney is a wise decision.
Source: Connecticut Post, "Connecticut among worst states for teens to get a DUI," Mark Saunders, Feb. 11, 2016