Connecticut law maintains that anyone under the age of 21 cannot legally purchase alcohol. In general, it is also forbidden for anyone under 21 to consume alcohol. However, every year there are those under age who are charged with a DUI.
According to the Connecticut General Assembly, the first time penalties for an underage DUI are no different from those for a legal adult. They include a suspension of your driver's license for 45 days with one year of an ignition interlock device required, a fine between $500 and $1,000 and the possibility of up to six months in jail.
Penalties for subsequent DUIs are different from a driver over the age of 21. If you get a second underage DUI, you would face up to two years in jail and could have your license suspended until you are 21. You may also pay a fine up to $4,000. You may also have to install an ignition interlock device and only be allowed to drive vehicles with such devices installed for up to three years after your conviction.
With any DUI arrest, if you do not have a license or your license was suspended, law enforcement will impound the vehcile you are driving. It cannot be retrieved for 48 hours and requires the payment of fees before it is released.
The biggest difference between getting a DUI when you are underage and when you are over 21 is the blood alcohol limit you are allowed to have. Because you are not supposed to be consuming alcohol when you are under the age of 21, your BAC limit is only .02%. For those over 21, the BAC limit is .08%. Even one drink could put you well over .02%. This information is for educational purposes only and is not intended as legal advice.