Brand Logo
For A Free Consultation Call

Stamford, CT 203-977-2415

White Plains, NY 914-946-2777
24 Hour Emergency Line
203-325-2200
Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney

What are the penalties for marijuana possession in Connecticut?

| Oct 14, 2015 | Uncategorized

In recent years, marijuana has been legalized in certain states. However, it is important for people to remember that the drug remains illegal in many places and marijuana charges often carry harsh penalties. In Stamford, Connecticut, people who are charged with marijuana possession may experience a number of life-changing consequences, such as financial penalties, jail time and a criminal record that prevents them from getting a job or applying for certain programs.

According to the Connecticut General Assembly, those who are charged with marijuana possession in the state may face a number of penalties, depending on the details surrounding their set of circumstances. For example, those who are charged with possessing under a half ounce of the drug face a $150 fine if it is their first offense. However, violators may face fines ranging from $200 to $500 if they are charged with a subsequent offense and could lose their license for 60 days if they are under 21. Those charged with possession of a half ounce to under four ounces of marijuana as a first time offender could be fined $1,000 and face a one year prison sentence, while first-time offenders charged with possession of over four ounces of marijuana could face five years behind bars and be fined $2,000.

If you have been charged with drug possession or are facing any other type of drug charges, presenting your case correctly is critical. Sometimes, people harshly judge those accused of drug offenses, even when they are innocent, which highlights the importance of putting your best foot forward in court.

Please understand that this piece was written to inform people of the potential consequences of marijuana possession and is not a substitute for legal counsel.

FindLaw Network