If you have been accused of assault, it is important to familiarize yourself with the potential penalties you may face. In addition to fines, you could face a lengthy prison sentence, depending on the details of your case. In Stamford, and across Connecticut, assault charges can have a significant impact on the lives of those who are accused, even if they were innocent or the details of what took place were exaggerated or misconstrued.
According to the Connecticut General Assembly, people charged with assault in the first degree face at least two to 40 years behind bars (and up to 60 years in prison if they have two previous convictions). If the victim was a child less than 10 years old, there is a 20-year minimum sentence (30 years if you have two past convictions on their record). Furthermore, if a weapon that could inflict significant physical harm was involved, the minimum sentence is 10 years (15 years if you have already been convicted twice).
The penalties for assaulting an individual who is blind, elderly, pregnant, mentally handicapped or disabled are also harsh. For example, if you are accused of first degree assault involving any of these types of individuals, you may face a minimum prison sentence of 10 years and could spend as many as 40 years in prison. If you have two earlier convictions, you could spend up to 60 years in prison and face a minimum sentence of 15 years.
Please keep in mind that this material is not to be interpreted as a substitute for legal advice.