Drunk driving laws are often complex. They consider many different aspects, from the type of vehicle being driven to the age of the driver. The blood alcohol content level also plays a very important role. If you are a driver in Connecticut, it is important for you to understand the state’s drunk driving laws. There are two main laws that govern this crime.
One of the laws is the BAC testing law, according to the Connecticut General Assembly. This part of the law says that you must consent to a BAC test when asked by law enforcement who has pulled you over for a DUI. In fact, it says you have already consented just by getting a driver’s license, so you really have no right to refuse a test. However, if you do refuse to take a test, you will face a license suspension regardless of whether you are found to have been driving under the influence or not.
The main part of the law makes it illegal to operate a motor vehicle with an elevated BAC. The definition of an elevated BAC depends on a couple things as it is different for different types of drivers. Under age drivers cannot have a BAC over .02 percent. Most adults over the age of 21 cannot have a BAC over .08 percent. However, if you are driving a commercial vehicle, your BAC cannot be over .04 percent.
When you are pulled over for a suspected DUI, the officer can administer three types of tests: urine, breath or blood. You must take two tests under the law for the results to be admissible in court. This information is only intended to educate and should not be interpreted as legal advice.