If you live in Connecticut, are facing a driving under the influence charge and already have such a conviction on your record, the harshness of your penalties typically increases alongside the number of convictions you have in your past. Joseph J. Colarusso recognizes the substantial impact multiple DUI convictions can have on your life, and he has helped many clients facing similar circumstances defend themselves and pursue solutions that meet their needs.
According to the Connecticut General Assembly, the penalties associated with a second Connecticut DUI conviction are considerable. You face fines that range somewhere between $1,000 and $4,000, and you also can also anticipate having to serve up to two years behind bars. At minimum, you must serve 120 days in jail and then go on probation and perform at least 120 hours of community service. You will also lose your license for a period, after which you must have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle and keep it there for three years. You may also face additional limitations regarding where and when you can drive for the first year after you get your license back.
If you receive a third or subsequent DUI conviction in Connecticut, the fines you face increase to somewhere between $2,000 and $8,000. You also face up to three years behind bars in addition to probation and community service requirements. You will lose your license indefinitely, but you may be able to pursue a license reinstatement once two years have passed. However, if you receive a reinstatement, you will typically still have to keep an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for as long as you continue to drive.
While the penalties associated with repeat DUI convictions are substantial, in some cases, you may be able to plead to a lesser charge. Find more about DUI defense on our web page.