Brand Logo
For A Free Consultation Call

Stamford, CT 203-977-2415

White Plains, NY 914-946-2777
24 Hour Emergency Line
203-325-2200
Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney

A closer look at Connecticut’s ignition interlock device program

Losing your Connecticut driver’s license can make it hard to find and maintain gainful employment, and unfortunately, you can face additional hardships for some time even after you get your license back. Joseph J. Colarusso, Attorney at Law, recognizes that many Connecticut residents must have ignition interlock devices installed on their vehicles as part of the license reinstatement process, and he has helped many clients navigate this and related hurdles associated with regaining the right to drive.

According to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, the state may require that you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle if you lose your license due to driving under the influence or refusing a breath or chemical test. You will typically also need to install the ignition interlock device if you lose your license because of an incident involving vehicular manslaughter or vehicular assault.

You will be responsible for paying all fees associated with your ignition interlock device, should you need to install one on your car in order to get your license back. You will need to pay $175 in restoration fees and a one-time $100 ignition interlock device administration fee, and you will also be responsible for all costs associated with device installation and maintenance. Independent ignition interlock device vendors set their own fees for installation and maintenance, so associated costs for these services typically vary.

Once you have the device installed in your vehicle, you will need to bring the car to the device installer monthly to have it calibrated. Failing to do so can lead to considerable trouble, including another suspension of your driver’s license. You can find more about drunk driving defense on our webpage.

FindLaw Network