According to Connecticut 2-1-1, statutory rape is a criminal offense that occurs between a person who is of the age of consent and another who is not old enough to legally consent to the activity. State laws vary regarding at what age a person can consent and how big of an age gap may exist between minors, so it is imperative that individuals and parents of teens thoroughly understand Connecticut statutory rape laws.
Per Connecticut law, a person is guilty of statutory rape when he or she partakes in sexual relations with a person who is more than three years younger than him or her if that person is between the ages of 13 and 16. However, if the minor is under the age of 13 and the offender is more than two years that minor’s senior, the older person is guilty of statutory rape.
Statutory rape also occurs if a person in a position of power engages in sexual activity with anyone who is younger than 18. For instance, if a teacher has sexual relations with a minor student, the state may charge that teacher with rape.
Per the OLR Research Report detailing state laws for statutory rape, a person is guilty of first-degree sexual assault if he or she engrosses in sexual behavior with a person who is younger than 13 and who is at least two years younger than him or her. The charge becomes sexual assault of the second degree if the minor is between the ages of 13 and 16 and if the age gap is greater than three years.
The penalty for statutory rape involving a person younger than 13 is 10 to 25 years in prison, with a mandatory sentence of five years if the victim is between the ages of 10 and 16. If the victim is younger than 10 years of age, the mandatory minimum sentence is 10 years. If a person serves less than 10 years, the combined length of the sentence and special parole must equal 10 years.
The penalty for statutory rape involving a person between the ages of 13 and 16 is up to 20 years in prison. The mandatory minimum sentence is nine months.