Brand
For A Free Consultation Call

Stamford, CT 203-977-2415

White Plains, NY 914-946-2777
24 Hour Emergency Line
203-325-2200
Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney

What are the penalties for a second or third Connecticut DUI?

The penalties for any Connecticut drunk driving charge can significantly impact drivers. Jail time and probation can limit drivers’ freedom. Fines can strain their finances. License suspension can make it difficult to keep up responsibilities in their work or their personal life. Drivers charged with a second or third offense face even more serious penalties.

What penalties do Connecticut drivers face for repeat charges of driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs?

Penalties for a second DUI offense

Drivers with a previous DUI conviction on their record face increased penalties for their second DUI. These penalties include:

  • Up to two years in jail
  • At least 120 days of probation
  • Community service
  • Fines of $1,000 to $4,000
  • Mandatory license suspension for 45 days
  • Required use of an ignition interlock device for three years

In addition to these penalties, drivers can only travel to specific locations for the first year after their license suspension ends. They are permitted to travel to work, school, addiction treatment programs or service centers.

Penalties for a third DUI offense

Penalties for a third DUI conviction include:

  • Between one and three years in jail
  • At least one year of probation
  • Community service
  • Fines of $2,000 to $8,000
  • Permanent revocation of the driver’s license

Any DUI charge can lead to serious penalties. If you or a loved one has been charged with drunk driving — whether it is your first, second or third charge — it can be important to speak to an experienced attorney. They can help you create a legal strategy that protects your freedom.